CMMI Models

The Center for Medicare and Medicaid Innovation (CMMI) supports the development and testing of innovative payment and delivery models. The aim of the Innovation Center is to achieve better care for patients, better health for communities, and lower costs through improvement of our health care system. 

The ACO Realizing Equity, Access, and Community Health (REACH) Model is comprised of two voluntary, risk-sharing payment arrangements with a strong focus on improving health equity and supporting provider-led organizations. The model will begin in 2023 and run through 2026. Learn more. 

Next Generation Model
The Next Generation ACO Model (Next Gen) allows provider groups to assume higher levels of financial risk and reward than what is available under the Medicare Shared Savings Program (MSSP). The model began in 2016 and will operate through the end of 2021. Learn more.
Direct Contracting
The Global and Professional Direct Contracting Model (GPDC) is comprised of two voluntary, risk-sharing payment arrangements that include risk-adjusted monthly payments and partial and full capitation options with shared savings and losses of 50% and 100%. The six-year model began in April 2021. Learn more.
Bundled Payments
The Innovation Center operates episode-based payment initiatives in which health care providers are held accountable for the cost and quality of care beneficiaries receive during an episode of care. These include the Bundled Payment for Care Improvement (BPCI) Initiative, BPCI Advanced, Comprehensive Care for Joint Replacement (CJR) Model, Oncology Care Model, and others. Learn more.
Primary Care First and CPC+
Primary Care First (PCF) and Comprehensive Primary Care Plus (CPC+) are primary care transformation models which aim to strengthen and increase access to primary care to promote health and reduce overall health care costs. These voluntary payment model options reward value and quality through innovative payment structures and emphasizing the patient-provider relationship to support advanced primary care. Learn more.