## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

June 21, 2023

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Speaker of the House U.S. House of Representatives H-232, U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Hakeem Jeffries Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives H-204, U.S. Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker McCarthy and Leader Jefferies:

We write again to bring to your attention a matter of great urgency. Financial uncertainty in our nation's health care system has been growing for years, and further escalated during the COVID-19 pandemic. Despite spending significantly more on health care than other industrialized countries, the United States continues to face poorer health outcomes and is experiencing a critical shortage of health care providers. A contributing factor is our Medicare payment system, which has failed to maintain levels of provider reimbursement that adequately incentivize high-quality care.

In 2022, lawmakers from both sides of the aisle requested feedback and ideas in search of an innovative, comprehensive solution. Stakeholders, think tanks, academics, physicians, health systems, and others weighed in, demonstrating a tremendous amount of support. We encourage you to consider their input as you determine how Congress will address this issue.

By way of background, in 2015, the bipartisan Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA) was signed into law. It replaced the sustainable growth rate (SGR) formula with the Quality Payment Program, consisting of a new Merit-Based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) and processes to adopt Advanced Alternative Payment Models (APMs). MACRA shifted Medicare's approach to physician payment, attempting to pay providers based on quality, value, and the results of care delivered rather than the number of services provided.

Unfortunately, logistical challenges have plagued MACRA almost since its inception. Incentive payments to encourage Medicare providers to participate in Advanced APMs are temporary, and underutilized. Furthermore, the thresholds to qualify for APM incentives and future payment adjustments are at risk of steep increases under current law. Together, these factors could result in fewer providers participating in value-based care models in the years to come.

Payments made to physicians who participate in value-based care models are affected by the Physician Fee Schedule (PFS) released by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) each year. Revisions of this fee schedule, which is subject to a budget neutrality requirement, have caused certain providers to face significant decreases in their reimbursement. Furthermore, though physician practice costs rise with inflation, the fee schedule is not adjusted accordingly. These factors are adding to physicians' financial instability and encouraging consolidation of providers.

In order to keep our patients safe, access to care available, and the healthcare workforce strong, Members of Congress must urgently work together to enact MACRA reforms, establishing a stable payment mechanism that appropriately pays for health outcomes. Please work with us to find a solution that ensures we keep our communities healthy.

Sincerely,

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

ivienioei of congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Carol D. Miller
Member of Congress

Larry Bucshon, M.D. Member of Congress

and Russ

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D.

Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress Jasmine Grockett
Member of Congress

Of ha

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer
Member of Congress

André Carson

André Carson Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress Jenniffer González-Colón Member of Congress

Mike Bost

Member of Congress

Yadira Carayeo M.D. Member of Congress

J. Luis Correa Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

Mike Levin

Member of Congress

Wille Ter

Member of Congress

Andy Harris, M.D. Member of Congress Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Brandon WIlliams
Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress

Tony Cárdenas

Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress Ronny L. Jackson, M.D. Member of Congress

Stacey E/Plaskett
Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Earl I Bully Carte

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell, Jr.

Member of Congress

Bill Pascrel fr

Brian Babin, D.D.S. Member of Congress

Glenn "GT" Thompson Member of Congress

Jefferson Van Drew Member of Congress Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Imi Sewell

Bill Johnson

Member of Congress

Kat Cammack

Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch

Member of Congress

Andrew R. Garbarino Member of Congress

Don Bacon

Member of Congress

Michael Guest

Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Bornie Water Colema

Darren Soto

Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton



Ed Case

Member of Congress

Nikema Williams

Member of Congress

John Joyce, M.D. Member of Congress

Jason Crow

Member of Congress

David Rouzer

Member of Congress

øe Neguse

Member of Congress

Susan Wild

Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta

Member of Congress

Susie Lee

Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford

Mike Ezell
Member of Congress

10.CLL

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Suay MCBatt

Madeleine Dean
Member of Congress

Joe Wilson Member of Congress Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Trent Kelly Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw Member of Congress

Daniel Meuser Member of Congress Lori Chavez-DeRemer Member of Congress

Kun Ciscomarii
Member of Congress

Rick W. Allen Member of Congress Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Member of Congress Colin Z. Allred Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Rudy Yakym III Member of Congress

Andy Kim

Member of Congress

ara Jacobs

Member of Congress

Robert E. Latta

Member of Congress

serrold Nadler

Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasev

Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

John R. Moolenaar

Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell

John B. Larson Member of Congress Austin Scott Member of Congress

Brian Higgins Member of Congress

Member of Congress

William R. Keating

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Kathy Castor Member of Congress

Kathy Castor

James R. Baird Member of Congress

J**i** Tokuda

Member of Congress

July Chu

Paul Tonko

Member of Congress

Fauld tonles

Jay/Obernolte

Member of Congress

Josh Harder